Call

I got a bit of a message today. I went to chapel here at Asbury Theological Seminary and the speaker, Dr. John Harnish, did a great job of describing his call and the call of ministry. Like I usually do, I sat there and paid attention, but failed to take notes. I figure I can always download the podcast later.

One short plug: If you desire a broad range of academic and relevant sermons and discussions, I recommend that anyone and everyone go to http://www.asburyseminary.edu/online-chapel and check out the Asbury Chapel. You can watch online, download podcasts, and see who is coming to chapel.

On with the blog: In the afternoon, I went to Basic Christian Doctrine and Dr. Seamands started with a devotion about the call of Abraham. Just to make sure I got the picture, Dr. Richter in my Old Testament Class was speaking about Abraham’s call at the beginning of my next class. I started to get the picture that God was directing me to focus on call.

I spoke later with a friend. We started to talk about how in the middle of a call, God grows within us the desire to serve, to preach, and mainly to just go! I’ve been in school now for 6 years to get into ministry. I’m feeling the pressure to go and serve. This is also a bit of senioritis.

Needless to say, I believe that God has called me to be here, present in this community of Asbury Seminary, with the classes and friends that I have, and I am at rest with this. I know God has called me. I’m at peace.

But as we draw nearer to God, we find that God shapes and forms us. God comes to abide in us as we abide in him. When God speaks to giving us the desires of our hearts, I truly believe that God gives us those desires, and we are called to test those hopes and feelings against scripture, tradition, and reason. The counsel of a wise friend is always good.

I know someday I will serve a church. God has given me this desire, and I have tested it and found my call to be true. For the meantime, I know that I am called to be where I am. God has called all of us, regardless of circumstance, to abide in him. Grow closer to God. As God has pledged to care for all his people, we have no fear or reason to hold back. Fall into Christ. Christ will abide in you.

John 15:5-13 (NIV) I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples. “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

Published by: Brad Kirk

I'm an ordained Elder in the Great Plains Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and serve as pastor of Leoti UMC in western Kansas. I am a graduate of Asbury Theological Seminary. I love being a husband to Diana and a father to Tobin. Most of all I am a child of God!

Tags1 Comment

One thought on “Call”

  1. Brad! Good to see you have fallen victim to the blogging world! Did you graduate from seminary already? I have trouble keeping up with everybody. I went and looked around Wilmore and checked out the school. It really seems like a great option for me at some point. I am graduated WSU in May and want some time off of school to fully focus on ministry. Update me!

Leave a Reply

