Why should I listen to the opinions of others?

fifty-shades-grey50 Shades of Grey comes out next week and the buzz is huge on Facebook.  Everyone seems to link to a post.  They have an opinion, or an opinion of an opinion.  I have an opinion of 50 Shades of Grey, but I also want you to know why I believe it is important to listen to our Christian brethren when we see a buzz about an iconic cultural event such as these books or this movie.  Why should we listen to the opinion of other people, especially those who have not yet seen or read these books?

I remember when first got Kate, our hunting dog growing up.  She was curious about everything.  The first time she was tall enough and we pulled out the grill, she was interested  in the smell she touched it with her nose.  She never touched it again.  The point is that when something is going to hurt me, I heed their advice.  I know they tell me for my own health.  I do not need to try every event or product to know that some will not be good for me.   Sometimes it isn’t worth experiencing the pain, memory, and problems just to try something firsthand.

As Christians this is especially true.  God tells us to build up each other.  We should listen to those voices of those we know we can trust. That could be a blog post that gets thousands of hits or the counsel of a close friend.  We should listen to those people who we know are trustworthy and have Godly character.  “Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise.” Proverbs 19:20.   True wisdom is that which helps us to follow God.

The issue here is also freedom.  We think freedom means getting to do whatever we want whenever we want to do it.  True freedom is found in Christ alone.  It isn’t found in a fantasy world, or in pushing limits to be thrilled.  When our relationship with God is right, we shouldn’t need anything else because He is more than enough.  The excitement of 50 Shades of Grey is the imagination that it gives people to think of a world they haven’t experienced.  Temptation is a terrible thing.  So much so that Jesus told us to pray, “Lead me not into temptation but deliver me from evil.”  We shouldn’t go to a place where we know we will be tempted, and that includes the imagination, the movie theater, the library, and the bedroom.

A marriage is a sacred thing.  It is a beautiful thing.  When it is healthy, it reflects the love of God for His church.  Why would you ever want to do anything to hurt that relationship?  For the singles our there, know that God calls us all to the same holiness, no matter what our relationship status may be.  I’ll take the warnings of my brethren in Christ: I won’t be seeing 50 Shades of Grey and I’d encourage you to do the same.  I will heed the wisdom of others.   I will judge their warnings against our Scripture and I will critically think about my choices, not just accept the words of others for my own.

Listen up.  Just because this movie is hot doesn’t mean it should be seen.  You may find yourself burned.

 

Published by: Brad Kirk

I'm an ordained Elder in the Great Plains Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and serve as pastor of Leoti UMC in western Kansas. I am a graduate of Asbury Theological Seminary. I love being a husband to Diana and a father to Tobin. Most of all I am a child of God!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

