Dear Son, Tomorrow Is Your Due Date …

Dear son,

Tomorrow is your due date.  I’m not sure when exactly you’ll decide to enter this world, but I can’t wait to meet you.  I’ve dreamed about meeting you.  I’m excited to be a father because I know how amazing my father has been for me.  It is because of him I want to be a father too.  And then I met your mother and I wanted a child even more.  She is an amazing woman.  She is going to make an incredible mother for you.

1526411_10206624141297096_3149698605628276496_nI am excited to teach you so many things.  I want to introduce you to so many people.  I want to put you in the arms of those who held me so lovingly and tenderly.  I want you to feel the love of those who have loved me.  I want to share my world with you because I have been so blessed.  The world is so beautiful, so amazing, and so remarkable that I am excited to share it with you.  I want to take you hunting, water skiing, read you books, and shower you with hugs.  I want to show you the value of money, time, and planning.  I want to be an example of hard work, character, and ethics.  The list is endless of all the things I look forward to doing with you.

Son, this world is beautiful but it is also broken.  I want to protect you.  I want to prevent any harm from coming to you.  Yet I know I can’t.  You’ll grow up and things will hurt.  You will fall.  Since I can’t keep you from world, I will simply promise you this: I will be there to pick you up, help you grow, and love you always.  I haven’t met you yet, but I promise you will always have my love.  My love for you is not contingent on what you can do.  My love for you is based on God’s love for me.  My father has always loved me, even when I disobeyed him.  My Heavenly Father loves me even more.  I love you.  Nothing will change that.

IMG_2866I want to lead you by example.  I am not sure how to be a father (since this is my first time), but I have an awesome example to follow.  I have an amazing father is loves me, cares about me, and always supports me.  I cannot wait to introduce you to him.  Even better I have a heavenly Father who loves me more than anyone else ever could.  God loves you more than anyone else ever could.  I want to be like Him.  I want to show you grace, hope, joy, and best of all, love.

I have so many dreams for you.  I want you to succeed and grow.  I want you to do well.  I want you to learn.  I want to share my passions, my heart, and the legacy I was given.  I want you to understand just how awesome your mother is and how much fun our family can be.  I want to see you grow into a man that loves God and respects women.  I want to be an example that someday you can follow when you have your own family.

I want you to find your dream and pursue it with your own passion.   I am sure at times I may be overbearing.  Sometimes I may press too hard.  Sometimes I may ask too much.  Always know that I love you.  Know that I would do anything for you.  Know that you’ll always be my son.  Forgive me.  Other times I may discipline you to help you grow.  I also do this because I love you.

The most important gift I can give you, son, is not the life that you have on this earth.  I played an important role in giving that to you, but that is not the most important thing I can give you.  I want to give you the legacy of faith that my father (and mother, and grandparents, and friends and family) gave to me.  It is the faith in Jesus Christ that will give you real life.  It is eternal life.  This gift means I don’t just get to spend the rest of my days with you.  It means I get to spend eternity with you.

This is the gift that will free you from sin.  This is the gift that will give you hope and a future.  This is the gift that will anchor you in the storm, help you endure through struggle, and direct you when lost.  This gift will show you the right way even when things seem so confusing.  I am your father but for only a short time on this earth.  God is your heavenly Father for all of eternity.  My greatest gift is to always remind you that you are His.  It is my greatest hope that someday you accept this joy for yourself to know Jesus as your Lord.  I will do my best to live each day as an example of God’s love for you.

Tomorrow is your due date.  Your first breath will begin your time on this earth.  I love you because God loves you.  I will always love you because He will always love me.  I can’t wait to meet you.

Love,

Dad

Published by: Brad Kirk

I'm an ordained Elder in the Great Plains Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and serve as pastor of Leoti UMC in western Kansas. I am a graduate of Asbury Theological Seminary. I love being a husband to Diana and a father to Tobin. Most of all I am a child of God!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

