Trust in the Lord

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6 

Tonight Jesus loves me. I delight in His words. I trust in His promises. 

Tonight I lay in a recliner 2 feet from my mother as she sleeps in the ICU. She has two brain aneurysms. They are in a challenging place to reach. One of them bled this morning. It caused a major headache (quite literally) for my mom. Thankfully my father rushed her directly to the ER and she was diagnosed and brought to a hospital room directly. 

Tomorrow is the procedure. The surgeon will go into her brain through her artieries in an angiogram. He will try to put in a stent and then use “coiling,” which includes putting small, small coils into the aneurysms to keep them from bleeding again. The coils should hopefully stop any future bleeding. 

There are risks. There are dangers. There are fears. 

Yet my mother says, “I have no anxiety about this.” 

How? 

She trusts in the Lord. She always has. She loves Jesus. She has faith. 

I’m not sure what tomorrow will bring. Yet I know this: Jesus loves me, my mother, and all of us. Tonight I may not have all the answers or even the right questions. I do have a God who knows everything. I do believe in a God of empty tombs and resurrections. I choose to trust in the Lord. I choose to give this whole day to him.  My hope is eternal. 

I pray for total healing. I pray for many more years of the best cinnamon rolls and chicken noodles, watching her hug my son as he grows, and hearing her beautiful voice gracefully harmonize the hymns on a Sunday morning. 

I pray the Lord’s Prayer and I pause for a second, summoning my words, and declare to the Father “Thy Kingdom come; thy will be done.”

Amen. Let it be. 

Published by: Brad Kirk

I'm an ordained Elder in the Great Plains Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and serve as pastor of Leoti UMC in western Kansas. I am a graduate of Asbury Theological Seminary. I love being a husband to Diana and a father to Tobin. Most of all I am a child of God!

1 Comment

One thought on “Trust in the Lord”

  1. I loved your comments here! More and more I find myself coming to rest on “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done.” A place of confirmation of His faithfulness and loving kindness – not as “the last straw” but as the greatest hope for all that is good.
    Hope I get to harmonize with your mom someday.
    Jeannette Raynes

Leave a Reply

